Skip to main content

David's Picks

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Current price: $27.00
The sequel to The Sympathizer, which won the 2016 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction and went on to sell over a million copies worldwide, The Committed tells the story of "the man of two minds" as he comes as a refugee to France and turns his hand to capitalism. The long-awaited new novel from one of America ... Read More about
Sayaka Murata
Current price: $26.00
From the beloved author of cult sensation Convenience Store Woman, which has now sold more than one million copies worldwide and has been translated into thirty-three languages, comes a spellbinding and otherworldly novel about a woman who believes she is an alien Sayaka Murata's Convenience Store ... Read More about
Available for Order
Emma Cline
Current price: $27.00
From the bestselling author of The Girls comes a “brilliant” (The New York Times) story collection exploring the dark corners of human experience. “Daddy’s ten masterful, provocative stories confirm that Cline is a staggering talent.”—Esquire  NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY ENTERTAIN ... Read More about
David Leavitt
Current price: $27.00
“Very funny and unexpected, a material response to our times, plush as velvet.” –Rachel Cusk “A wickedly funny and emotionally expansive novel about all the bewildering ways we seek solace from the people and things that surround us.” – Jenny Offill David Leavitt returns with his signature “coolly e ... Read More about
Anonymous, Duchess Goldblatt
Current price: $17.99
One of the New York Times’ 20 Books to Read in 2020 “A tonic . . . Splendid . . . A respite . . . A summer cocktail of a book.”—Washington Post “Unforgettable . . . Behind her brilliantly witty and uplifting message is a remarkable vulnerability and candor that reminds us that we are not alone in o ... Read More about
Available for Order
Lily King
Current price: $27.00
#ReadWithJenna Book Club Pick as Featured on TodayEmma Roberts Belletrist Book Club PickA New York Times Book Review's Group Text Selection "I loved this book not just from the first chapter or the first page but from the first paragraph... The voice is just so honest and riveting and insightful abo ... Read More about
Hypochondriacs can now fret appropriately with this humorous pocket guide to more than 40 disgusting, horrible diseases. All entries include symptoms, a diagnosis guide, treatment suggestions, a prognosis, and—if you are not yet infected—prevention tips. Do you suffer from insomnia? Not good…soon ... Read More about
Michael Perry
Current price: $16.99
New York Times bestselling humorist Michael Perry makes his fiction debut with this hilarious and big-hearted tale, a comic yet sincere exploration of faith and the foibles of modern life that blends the barbed charm of Garrison Keillor, the irreverent humor of Christopher Moore, and the audacious i ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Maria Reva
Current price: $16.00
"These immersive linked stories grapple with Ukrainian history through the waning years of the USSR and birth pangs of democracy ... Reva's characters spark off the page as they confront a brutal bureaucratic past with the only tool they possess—hope."—O, The Oprah Magazine A brilliant and bitingly ... Read More about
Un-su Kim
Previous price: $18.00 Current price: $16.95
ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE'S 100 BEST MYSTERY AND THRILLER BOOKS OF ALL TIME • A fantastical crime novel set in an alternate Seoul where assassination guilds compete for market dominance."The Plotters’s first convenient comparison may be to the ever-expanding John Wick movies" --Los Angeles Review of Book ... Read More about
Takis Wurger
Current price: $16.00
A runaway bestseller in Europe, The Club is a blistering novel set around an elite all-male dining club at Cambridge University, a page-turning story of privilege, power, and retribution As a boy, Hans Stichler enjoys a fable-like childhood among the rolling hills and forests of North Germany, livin ... Read More about
Gary Shteyngart
Current price: $18.00
“Spectacular.”—NPR • “Uproariously funny.”—The Boston Globe • “An artistic triumph.”—San Francisco Chronicle • “A novel in which comedy and pathos are exquisitely balanced.”—The Washington Post • “Shteyngart’s best book.”—The Seattle Times The bestselling author of Super Sad True Love Story returns ... Read More about
Sayaka Murata
Current price: $16.00
Shortlisted for the Best Translated Book AwardLonglisted for the Believer Book Award Longlisted for the Warwick Prize for Women in Translation A Los Angeles Times Bestseller The English-language debut of an exciting young voice in international fiction, selling 660,000 copies in Japan alone, Conveni ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Jon Mcgregor
Current price: $16.95
A New York Times Book Review Editors’ ChoiceLonglisted for the Man Booker Prize A “fiercely intelligent . . . daring, and very moving” about an English village haunted by one family’s loss—for readers of The Virgin Suicides and Zadie Smith’s NW (George Saunders, The Paris Review Daily). Midwinter in ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Sarah Winman
Current price: $16.00
"My favorite book of the year was Tin Man. Sparsely written and achingly beautiful...The most powerful take on love, loss and vulnerability I've read in years."—A Cup of Jo From internationally bestselling author Sarah Winman comes an unforgettable and heartbreaking novel celebrating love in all its ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Mick Herron
Current price: $18.95
From CWA Gold Dagger winner Mick Herron comes a shocking, twisted novel of psychological suspense about one woman's attempt to be better than ordinary. Twenty-six-year-old Maggie Barnes is someone you would never look at twice. Living alone in a month-to-month sublet in the huge city of London, ... Read More about
Bethan Woollvin
Current price: $18.99
In this New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book, girl power abounds as Little Red unravels the big bad wolf's plan. On her way to Grandma's house, Little Red meets a wolf. That might scare some little girls, but not this little girl. She knows just what the wolf is up to, and she's not going ... Read More about
New York Times Bestseller Named a Best Book of the Year by NPR, Wall Street Journal, Publishers Weekly, Kirkus Reviews, and Library Journal "Hilarious…This book charmed my socks off." —Patricia O’Conner, New York Times Book Review   Mary Norris has spent more than three decades working in The New Yo ... Read More about
J. Ryan Stradal
Current price: $18.00
“A sweet and savory treat.” —People “An impressive feat of narrative jujitsu . . . that keeps readers turning the pages too fast to realize just how ingenious they are.”—The New York Times Book Review, Editor’s PickFrom the New York Times bestselling author of The Lager Queen of Minnesota, Kitchens ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • #1 Indie Next Pick • Winner of the PEN New England Award “Enchanting…A book filled with so much love…Long before Oregon, Rinker Buck has convinced us that the best way to see America is from the seat of a covered wagon.” —The Wall Street Journal “Amazing…A real nonfict ... Read More about
Available for Order
The New York Times bestselling second novel in the explosive Power of the Dog series—an action-filled look at the drug trade that takes you deep inside a world riddled with corruption, betrayal, and bloody revenge.Book Two of the Power of the Dog SeriesIt’s 2004. Adán Barrera, kingpin of El Federaci ... Read More about
Backordered
Kate DiCamillo
Current price: $8.99
As featured on The Today Show’s Read with Jenna Jr. Book Club Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots in this 2016 National Book Award Finalist — a moving, masterful story of an unforgettable friendship.Raymie Clarke has a plan. If she can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire compet ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now